I feel my pain, you feel yours. I have EP for my pain, you for yours. It does not follow that I know everything about what my brain is doing, of course. Indeed, I believe the case for EP is grossly overstated. We are lousy at giving causal accounts for our own behaviour. Look inside and tell me what you are feeling right now. Apart from sensations, there is little immediate experience of the kind of things we would describe if asked ‘how are you feeling?’. Where my thought are verbalized, I am a listener, and my experience of the words is very like that of hearing others speak. The murky goings on that are not verbal are not immediately available to me, certainly not that I could describe or report on. (that may be circular. If I could report something, it would be verbal… nah, I can report pain, and I experience pain directly and non-verbally).

